Sorry it has been so long since I posted. Yesterday was the beginning of week 3 of training. The last bit has been pretty hectic. Once we were all moved in training started to continue as normal until a couple of co-workers went away for the holidays and I said that I would watch their animals, not that this is a bad thing because I do love their dog and cat. However, the time it takes to watch them plus the low temperatures have ensured that my outdoor running has slowed down dramatically.

Yesterday I went to the gym, I know it isn’t a cross training day but I just doubled up since I had missed a couple days of working out. Drew Winter came with and ended up getting a gym membership as well. First I started on the recumbent bike. I rode for 2 miles to warm up and then I headed up stairs to the weights.

Once upstairs I started off with the sitting leg lifts; I did 3 sets of 10 at 50lbs before moving on to the standing leg press. Here I worked both legs alternating left to right and did 3 sets of 10 at 70 lbs for each leg. I then hit up the seated machine row and did 3 sets of 10 at 35 lbs and hit up another rowing machine where I did 3 sets of 10 at 50lbs. I then did some pull downs with 3 sets of 10 at 50lbs and finished off punishing my upper body with 3 sets of 10 rope tricep pushdowns at a meager 15lbs. But I remind myself that I am not going for weight I am going for endurance.

Once I was done with those I hit up the ab area and did 30 captain’s chair leg raises and 30 long arm crunches at 35lbs. To finish off the whole ordeal I went back down to the recumbent bike and did 12 more miles.

I was proud of my time on the bike. I did 14 miles in total with a workout in there as well. It makes me feel more confident about my abilities. Even today my legs weren’t sore, my goal for next time I am at the gym is to cruise up to a cool 25 miles.